About Me

Rahul Jain's Biography

Rahul Jain is a Professor of ECE, CS and ISE at the University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA. From 2012 to 2021, he held the K.C. Dahlberg Early Career Chair. Prior to joining USC in August 2008, he was at the Mathematical Sciences Division of the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY. He received his Ph.D. in EECS in December 2004, and an M.A. in Statistics, both from the University of California, Berkeley. He also received an M.S. in ECE from Rice University where he was a recipient of the Texas Instruments Fellowship. He received a B.Tech in EE from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, where he won the TCS Best B.Tech Project Award. He has received numerous awards including a James H. Zumberge Faculty Research and Innovation Award in 2009, an IBM Faculty Award, the NSF CAREER Award in 2010 and the ONR Young Investigator Award in 2012. He is a US Fulbright Specialist Scholar for 2017-2020, and was a Fulbright Visiting Professor at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore in 2018.

His research interests have current focus on AI for Dynamic Systems, Online, Statistical and Reinforcement Learning. He has also worked on Queueing Systems, Power System Economics, Network Economics and Game Theory. He is a Founding Director of the USC Center for Autonomy and AI and a Group Director of the ECE Control, Learning, Autonomy and Robotics (CLEAR) Group.

He is currently an Associate Editor for IEEE Trans. on Automatic Control, IEEE Trans. on Control of Networked Systems, IEEE T. on Network Science & Engineering , and Queueing Systems: Theory and Applications (QUESTA) and serves on the Conference Editorial Board of IEEE Control Systems Society. In the past, he has been an AE for IEEE. T. on Mobile Computing (2013-16) and was the lead Guest editor of a special issue in the IEEE J. Selected Areas in Communications, Associate editor for (2014-present). He has served as the TPC Co-Chair or member of many conferences. He is a contributing member of many professional societies including ACM, IEEE Communications, Control Systems and Information Theory Societies, and Institute for Operations Research and Management Science (INFORMS).

His students have won prestigious dissertation/best paper awards awards including the Lajos Takacs Thesis Award in Queueing Theory (2016). Several students and postdocs are now in academic positions at top US and international universities.